#30DaysWild

Heart hands @Dani Cox

Oh I am a sucker for 30 days things and I know that I’m going to struggle to complete this towards the end of the month but I couldn’t resist! #30DaysWild is organised by The Wildlife Trusts and you can go and sign up here, it’s all about introducing a little bit of wild to your life, every day, for 30 days. There’s stuff to download and inspiring emails with suggestions on what you can do.

Today’s suggestion is writing, so I thought I’d write a bit about my part of the world. I live in a lovely, green part of south west London, sandwiched between Richmond Park and the Thames. When you think of the Thames I think it’s quite easy just to think of the bit that flows past the Houses of Parliament, which is big, quite fast flowing and not very green, although it’s actually a lot healthier than it used to be.

DSCF3817

My bit of the Thames, which is just before the locks at Teddington, which marks the tidal part of the river, is a lot smaller, greener and quieter.

365:71 Foggy Thames Walk
And as for Richmond Park, oh Richmond Park, the park is a National Nature Reserve, London’s largest Site of Special Scientific Interest and a European Special Area of Conservation and I love going for walks there.

Richmond Park

IMG_0859

Penn Ponds

So, anyway, I’m looking forward to having more of an excuse to get wild this month! Most of my blogging will probably be around my local area but I plan / hope to get a bit further afield in London too, to try and find some even more urban wildlife.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

