#30DaysWild 21 -an unexpected day out

FullSizeRender 156

I’ve been going into central London a lot recently, as I’ve been preparing for my upcoming op. I didn’t think I needed to go into London today but I got a phone call yesterday, to tell me I needed to pick something up today, so I got an extra trip into town. Now I wasn’t going to go all the way in, for a 10 minute chore and then go back home again, so I managed to tick two things off my ‘to see list’ as well.

FullSizeRender 132

The first thing on my list was the new Tate Modern extension. The architecture of the new building is fantastic, but as this post is about wild things, for the architecture bit skip to the next post.

As part of my #30DaysWild, I kept my eye out for wild things and it was, I admit, quite a bit harder than when I went to the V&A. But I did spot a giant metal spider, a money tree and (my favourite) Tree 2010 by Ai Weiwei.

FullSizeRender 140

Tree 2010 is made from dry branches, roots and trunks from different species of trees that Weiwei gathered from across China. The tree was inspired by the Chinese custom of displaying eye catching tree trunks and weirdly shaped roots as decorations in the home. But the fact that it is also dry and dead, draws attention to China’s rapid growth and urbanisation, which has damaged the environment and suppressed traditional culture.

The second thing on my ‘to see’ list was The Hive at Kew Gardens but first I had to get there, walking to Blackfriars via the river, which was low today.

FullSizeRender 171

The Hive is an installation which links actual hives to a giant sculpture, which produces light and sound depending on what is going on in the hives.

It certainly was interesting and anything that promotes how vitally important bees are, is good by me, it’s just that, ummm, I dunno, I think I thought it would be a bit more ‘whizz, bang’ but I think that was probably just me, my senses already overloaded by the Tate Modern and something else at Kew (which will also be in my next post).

*Source material – Ai Weiwei, Tate Modern

Leave a Reply

