An unexpected day out (the non-wild version)

FullSizeRender 169

I went to see the new Tate Modern extension today and had a quick pop into Kew Gardens as well. After all the rain, London was looking especially photogenic, so I even enjoyed the walk to Tate Modern (although to be honest I normally do, as I used to work and live (nearish) that part of London).

FullSizeRender 139

This is one of my favourite London streets 👆, a hidden gem near Waterloo (also very near Konditor and Cook, one of my favourite bakers, which is an added bonus). There’s also a nice pub along there, although last time I went there was many moons ago, so it may have changed.

FullSizeRender 161

Not the pub I remember but another one ….. and a handy thing to know.

FullSizeRender 128

Now, Tate Modern is always one of my favourite buildings to walk up to, in London, it’s always very impressive but ooh it’s pulled out all the stops with the extension.

FullSizeRender 160
I love how the outside almost looks like knitting in this shot

And the inside looks even better.

FullSizeRender 137

FullSizeRender 147

FullSizeRender 155

FullSizeRender 145

The new space holds their more architectural pieces and their performance work. They’ve also now permanently opened up The Tanks (the old oil tanks from when it used to be a power station), which also shows some performance pieces.

FullSizeRender 149

There’s a new bridge that goes over to the main building.

FullSizeRender 157

FullSizeRender 153

FullSizeRender 148

AND there’s an amazing viewing platform on the tenth floor of the extension!

(The new shop is pretty nice too).

My second sight seeing stop of the day was Kew Gardens, on my way to see The Hive (see my previous post), I walked along The Broad Walk, which is, apparently, the longest herbaceous border in the UK. They’ve been replanting it (it’s been bare soil for months and months) but it’s almost completed now, the posters are advertising it from July, some of the flowers aren’t blooming yet but it’s already looking stunning, so definitely worth the visit.

Leave a Reply

