As If

FullSizeRender 176

Yay I’ve finished an embroidery! This one is part of the Feisty pattern set from Urban Threads. I realise that the ‘as if’ is meant to be ‘as if’ as in ‘Yes, I’m going to be Britain’s next top model . . .  as if’ but as I was stitching this, the ‘as if’ reminded me far more of this Neil Gaiman quote from Make Good Art –

And if you cannot be wise, pretend to be someone who is wise, and then just behave like they would.

I think there is a lot to be said for acting ‘as if’ you have a trait that you would like if you’re not feeling confident; such as acting as if you’re an old hand at doing speeches, behaving like someone who has run their business for years, instead of is only just starting up, etc. etc.

Anyway, I enjoyed embroidering this, even though I literally had to take long breaks between each letter, leaf or petal, as my arm was getting tired, it was worth it.

Leave a Reply

