Heresy

HeresyHeresy by S.J. Parris

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

It took me a while to warm to Heresy, abandoning it for a while but I’m glad I picked it up again, as it turned out to be rather good! Set in the 16th century, it tells the story of disgraced ex Italian monk, Giordano Bruno, who has made his way to England and now works as a spy for the English court. In his first mission he accompanies a royal party to Oxford, ostensibly as an academic but in reality to ferret out any pesky Catholics bent on overthrowing the Queen. Whilst there, a series of murders shows that something is indeed up and Bruno investigates. In a way, specially as the Oxford college was a closed community and Bruno’s European accent (I listened to this in part as an audiobook, read the rest on my Kindle app), it all reminded me sort of as a medieval Poirot, except Bruno is a bit more hot blooded and there’s more knife fights. I will definitely be reading the other books in the series.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

